EdTech 543 – Module 1 – Social Media

Using Social Media for Professional & Student Learning

What are you initial reactions about joining these social networks for use in this course?social-media-400854_640

My initial reactions was this is definitely what I expected and “wahoo” because when I signed up for this course I wanted to use programs such as Twitter and Diigo in an effort to improve my educational application for them. I already have accounts for each network.

What is your experience in using social media for your own professional development?

I have a professional Twitter that I use both for my school community and also for mostly educational technology purposes (research and sharing). I hope that it is okay that I don’t have a separate account for both topics. I also help to manage my school’s Twitter handle (which is completely separate from my own). I have used Diigo as a personal bookmarking and annotating system, but I have not had experience using the Group aspect. In the past I have only used Facebook for friends and family socialization.

What is your experience in using social media as an instructional strategy in your learning environment?

I have used social media less with students and only slightly more in the hopes to publicize information to parents. I did use Google Sites with middle school students for a time and they did use the comment features. In the past I have found ways for students to be social through different technologies (Today’s Meet, Padlet etc) as most of the big social media platforms are blocked for students. When I taught elementary we did have a Twitter wall, which was simply a bulletin board with students exit tickets in the form of “tweets”.

What are your expectations for this course?

My expectations for this course would be of course to build my own comfort and confidence with social media as a professional. I would also like to focus on past practices for students a differing grade levels and also the legals aspects surrounding student usage and accounts.

Leave a Reply

