Real-Time and Live Virtual Professional Development

8477893426_9181cdabc4_oLive Twitter Chats

Before this module, I had never tried my hand at a Twitter chat. I was always intrigued, but mostly intimidated and apprehensive. I was thrilled to be pushed over the ledge with this assignment; I had no excuse but to give it a shot.

I enjoyed my experience engaging with other professionals and educators through the Twittersphere. In the future, I can see myself being a regular with a topic or two that interests me. I even shared the curated Google calendar with other teacher friends of mine and encouraged them to find a chat topic of interest to them. I was so surprised by how many types of education chats occur daily.

Real-time professional development was meaningful for me. As contributors share resources, I found myself opening a lot of tabs to review further after the chat. I think that real-time PD can be very useful, but it is important to reflect and review after the collaborative chat time.


 

Twitter Chat #resiliencechat

6Thank goodness we had already sent up a Tweetdeck through this class. I don’t know how you would follow a chat without being able to streamline the collection system. The host for this chat centered the conversation this time around student travel during the school year. This discussion followed the Question and Answer protocol that I had seen in my Twitter feed at times.The conversation hinged on the benefits of family travel, school responsibilities and equity across the country. I was able to contribute by sharing my experiences working with migrant communities and transient communities. My experiences offered a different take on student “travel”. I interacted with educators that I had not previously encountered through my PLN.  It was a successful first experience.


 

Twitter Chat #educoach

Ca444ptureI was also able to participate in this chat with other instructional coaches. The facilitators welcomed everyone and centered the chat around “instructional coaching with the end in mind”. This chat was a faster pace than the first one I had participated in, but having multiple facilitators felt very interactive and engaging. That was awesome to “meet” other coaches; I grew my network here. Many of the coaches seemed to be on the same page as me, so it made me feel confident participating. I wonder how I would feel if I had had a very different view on the topic. I would like to schedule a time to try out the technology coaching chat in the future.


 

Twitter Chat #ipadchat

When I first arrived at the chat, there were a lot of bummed Tweeters as we were all figuring out the facilitators were not in attendance. However, we quickly realized we could still have a chat, albeit impromptu. One person started off asking what apps and resources we liked for formative assessment and the discussion rolled from there! It was neat to take the conversation where we wanted it to go, but I could also see how this would be harder the more participants were in attendance. I appreciate the role of the facilitator. I even encountered a fellow EdTech 543 classmate here!

Captu4445re


 

Twitter Chat #Nt2t

#Nt2tI had wanted to do this chat earlier on in our Modules but didn’t get to join in until my fourth chat attempt. I was feeling a bit weird to chat at “New Teachers to Twitter”, as I didn’t exactly know what “new” meant. I was glad I stopped it, I met a lot of great educators and now have lots of ideas of how to introduce Twitter to my school staff. I also learned tips I want to take on into my practice. #Nt2t had new and veteran educators willing to network and share.


 

Live Webinars

Empowering Digital Citizens: Embracing Social Media in Schools

edWeb.net

During this webinar, Principal Jason Markey presented on his high school’s use of social media as a positive for his community. He urged for all to, “Take ownership of your school’s story and then you aren’t just going to see the few negative news stories out there.” He explained that it took about two years to get Twitter unblocked, but it is such a positive for the school and students. Principal Markey told how you could scrub out negative tweets by inviting positive momentum. This webinar did have a backchannel of which questions were collected and answered at the end of the presentation. I was able to ask a question and the presenter even followed up with me through Twitter. I appreciate how real-time PD breaks down those barriers of separation. C333apture


 

Nearpod: GoToWebinar – Best Practices for Implementing Technology in your Classrooms

This webinar was used to show the basics of Nearpod. I was hoping it would go beyond the basics as I have previously used Nearpod in my classroom. I did appreciate how easy it was to interact with the presenter, who also followed up through Twitter after the presentation. I was able to ask a few questions around Nearpod vs. Classflow, which was helpful to me.

555


 

Webinar: Planting the Seeds of Belief

30 Goals eConference speaker Barbara Bray presented on Univeral Design for Learning as the framework for personalized learning. She spoke from the heart about wanting teachers to “bring problem solving and joy back into the classroom.” She explained one way you do this is to help unburden teachers, by moving from traditional to learner-centered education. She explained that teachers need to make the learners responsible and accountable for their learning, it shouldn’t be on the teacher alone, it should be on the learner more.


 

Webinar: BBWorld15

Panel Discussion: Powerful Professional Development to Prepare Teachers for Digital Learning

Moderator: Dr. Allison Powell

The fourth webinar I attended was through the BbWorld Conference. It was a panel discussion focusing on online professional development for teachers. The panel talked about theories of adult learning and taking this into accoutn when looking at blended, online or face-to-face professional development for online teachers. It was neat to watch the panel online while they presented just down the road here in Washington, DC. This was another backchannel were questions were saved until the end. The chat moderator offered to take questions to the panel if they were unable to get to them in the time allotted.

This experience was so positive for me. I will continue to look for webinars and Twitter chats to be a part of in the future. All of my experiences were authentic and real.

Image Attribution: “Multiple Tweets Plain” by mkhmarketing is licensed under CC BY 4.0

Leave a Reply

