Social Networking for Teaching and Learning

Social Media is Elementary

IMG_20150128_102600As a technology instructional coach for an elementary school, I was a bit nervous about finding resources surrounding social media and young students. I wasn’t sure what resources I would find if any. So, I begin by posting in a few Google+ communities to help gather information circulating about this topic. I was pleasantly¬†surprised both with the response and the content.

I was surprised to learn that there are many resources out there of teachers utilizing Twitter, blog sharing, and Skype in the Classroom at the elementary level. I was surprised to find a lot of examples and support came from early elementary, both kindergarten, and first grade. I choose to curate my findings with Storify this time around; you can check it out here.

I learned that teachers utilize a classroom Twitter account, for example, and draft posts together as a class. Some teachers train their students well enough that eventually students are posting to the class account independently with teacher posting permission. Teachers at the elementary level, like to match up with other classes through Twitter or blogs to respond to one-another. Sometimes they even plan on doing projects and predict and share results with their “buddy” classes all over the world.

I was so pleased with my findings I have added a lot of these teachers to my PLN and shared the resources with teachers in my building. I look forward to opening up this idea with the elementary teachers I work with.

Leave a Reply

