EdTech 501 – Final Reflection

 

Self-ReflectionWhat challenges did you face in this course?

The major challenge that surround this course, and all summer courses, would have to be time – mostly lack of time. The experiences and assignments are so rich and full that each week was jammed pack with learning experiences, readings, and assignments. This wasn’t a surprise to me, I understood this course to be a shorter version of the typical semester-long course. I appreciate that as a summer course, we didn’t lose out on any content. It was condensed but still held true to the course goals and learning experiences. Fortunately, I was off this summer as my position is a traditional 10-month teacher schedule. This allowed me to focus many, many hours on this course and a second one I was also taking this summer.

What strategies or other creative resources did you use to address these challenges?

To deal with the problem of time, both lack of and shortened, I worked on these courses like I would a job. I scheduled in times I would be working and separated myself from distractions. I also took our instructors advice and tailored the assignment artifacts toward my job and interests. I could learn for this course while creating something I will be using at school in the Fall, accomplishing a task for both areas of my life felt very productive.

While traveling this summer – by plane, train and automobile – I made sure to have resources ready for offline use as well. I used Google Drive offline while flying and on a train overnight. It was important to plan ahead to make sure you had access at hotels or coffee shops as well. I definitely read our course chapters on the DC Metro.

I used Google Scholar to set up alerts for certain tops and also set up my Feedly in a more organized manner. I had time to work with Diigo and explore more behind groups and also best ways to tag and organize for future use. I need to keep tweaking my organization tagging to make it more efficient for me as the user; this will help save so much time to get my personal and shared bookmarked resources readily accessible.

Which artifact do you feel was your best and why?

In choosing to be a student at Boise State and undertake the MET program, I committed to a field of study I have a lot of interest and investment in. Each assignment held meaning for me, and I worked on each to gain knowledge and grow as an educational technologist. I appreciated that our professor encouraged us to tailor our research and topic curation toward our work situation and location.

I am very proud of the work on did on my School Evaluation Summary. This task enabled me to really evaluate my school from many angles and hone in on areas of strength and weakness. I look forward to working with the leadership team at my school to use this to develop a technology usage plan. In my other summer course, I was able to develop a Social Media Policy. These two artifacts will assist me as I look to move our school into a formal and thoughtful plan. I am excited to get the conversation started with my team. My school site is fortunate in a lot of ways, with a committed staff, bilingual focus, new renovations and technology – with the work I did this summer I feel this can help to move us forward to create an intelligently integrated school.

 

 

Leave a Reply

