EdTech 541 – Course Reflection

Part One: Reflection

As I reflect back on this course, it is evident that I have learned so much surrounding educational technology and classroom integration. I have learned that the places for technology integration within the classroom are endless. Of course it is important to look to the lesson and standards and decide if integration will bolster the learning, one must weight the relative advantage of the integration. And this is a major reason teachers will never be replaced by technology, a teacher will always be needed to weigh the outcome against the process and plan for best practices of integrating.

As I went through this course and developed projects, I always took into account whether I was making up lessons to fit the assignment profile or whether I was creating a project that was best practice for integration. A few times I found myself needing to reevaluate my projects to make sure I was creating a resource with a relative advantage and/or purpose for integration. It is important that the integration enable a more powerful experience or lesson than before the integration was applied.

Throughout this course we were asked to focus on a particular subject area and grade level. My project for EdTech 541 can be found here  and it focuses on  elementary ELA.  As I created plans for my unit structure throughout this course many AECT standards were met.

AECT Standard 1 (Content Knowledge):

1.2 Using – Candidates demonstrate the ability to select and use technological resources and processes to support student learning and to enhance their pedagogy.

1.3 Assessing/Evaluating – Candidates demonstrate the ability to assess and evaluate the effective integration of appropriate technologies and instructional materials.

AECT Standard 2 (Content Pedagogy):

2.1 Creating – Candidates apply content pedagogy to create appropriate applications of processes and technologies to improve learning and performance outcomes.

2.2 Using – Candidates implement appropriate educational technologies and processes based on appropriate content pedagogy.

Throughout this course, I had to read, research and discover technological resources to better support student learning in the classroom environment. I also had to be mindful about analyzing resources to make sure I was including and utilizing quality resources for student engagement and learning

I have grown professionally, as I have become a better digital consumer. This is because I am more informed and more purposeful in my integration. I also feel I have grown professionally as I am more confident in my understanding of purposeful integration that I can share with other teaching professionals. I also really enjoyed Roblyer’s text for this course. I have used the subject specific rubrics with my colleagues in my own coaching work. This text will be something I use and refer to again and again in my professional sphere.

This course as opened my eyes to integration within the classroom. I use to have a few go-to integration tools, but I realize now there is more to learn and incorporate into my practice. My Weebly website is a great showcase of all the topics we covered throughout this course. I will use it as a reference along with Roblyer’s text moving forward.


Part Two: Self-Assessment

Criteria Outstanding Proficient Basic Below Expectations
Content

70/70 points

Blog posts were used to address the topic in a real-life way with attention to each weekly topic

 

Rich in content, full of thought, insight and synthesis with clear connections to previous or current content and/or to real life situations made with depth and detail. Substantial information, thought, insight and analysis has taken place with some connection to previous or current content and/or to real life situations but lack of depth and detail. Generally competent in summarizing learning, but information is thin and commonplace with limited connections and vague generalities. Rudimentary and superficial regurgitation of content with no connections and/or completely off topic.
Readings and Resources

20/20 points

All readings were completed and used to bring credit to blog posts through APA style references weekly.

Readings (from course text) and other resource materials are used to support blog comments. APA style is used to cite references. There is some reference to readings and other resource material. No or limited use of APA style references. Little if any reference is made to readings an other course materials. Readings and resources are not mentioned.
Timeliness

18/20 points

Efforts were made to post early, but on some occasions blog posts were made later into the week.

All required postings are made early in the module to give others time to comment. All required postings are made but not in time for others to read and respond. Some or all of the required postings are made, but most are at the last minute without allowing for response time. Some or all of the required postings are missing.
Responses to Other Students

25/30 Points

I responded to many students postings, but could always do better with this to keep the collaborative learning alive.

Final: 133/140

Two or more substantial posts with at least one detailed response made to address another students’ post. One or more satisfactory posts with at least one satisfactory response made to address another students’ post. One satisfactory post with a brief response to another students’ post. One brief post or no post at all and no response to another students’ post.
Leave a Reply

